Ask Ray… about yellow cards

Ask Ray is back for a second season and will appear as regularly on a Wednesday as queries come in. This week the Olympic and World Cup final umpire deals with multiple yellow card offences:

The Query
If a player receives a yellow card for a specific infringement, do all other players who subsequently make the same infringement have to get a yellow card?

Ray’s Response
No is the answer to the specific question

A card should be used as a last resort, when the umpire has tried to fix a problem of a player or team who keeps breaking a rule. Umpires must be very careful never to put themselves in a position that they have no other option but leave one team with less players on the pitch than the other.

One problem is that some players never seem to get or understand the message the umpire is trying to get across. A good example of this is when a player has received a yellow card for a deliberate offense they then come back onto the pitch and do the same again.

They, then, expect the umpire to give them the same yellow card. In this example the player/coach must take full responsibility for whatever happens next.

From the FIH Rule-book:
2.3e it is possible, although umpires are not encouraged to do so, for a player to receive two green or two yellow cards for different minor offences during the same match. However, when an offence for which a card has already been awarded is repeated, the same card must not be used again and a more severe penalty must be awarded.



Hope this makes sense?

Partners of The Hook

smart-trainingSecurehost.ie