McCarthy selects U-16 panel

Una McCarthy has selected seven Leinster players in an initial 34-player panel this week for her Irish U-16 team who will take part in trials on February 1.

Clontarf goalkeeper Rachael Barrett will be joined in the trials by Hermes duo Juliette King Hall and Laura Pinder while Railway trio Orla Macken, Kate Lloyd and Lisa McCarthy are also involved.

Premier League winner Emily Beatty represents Alex in the squad.

The squad was selected primarily in the wake of the ESB U-16 Interprovincial Blitz held on January 4, which was attended by a number of top coaches including Guy Garrett (Ireland A); David Passmore (High Performance Director), Mary Logue (Ireland U18) and McCarthy.

Speaking about the recent tournament was delighted to the players in action after the cancelled ESB U16 interpros

“It was fantastic to finally see the players after the disappointment of the scheduled ESB Interpros. The format of a one day tournament while I’m sure was difficult on the players and coaching teams still showed the wealth of talent that is present at the U-16 level.

“With most of last year’s U-16 squad moving up to U-18 it was great to see all the new players who are breaking through at this age group and I am really looking forward to working with these players as we prepare for our programme which will include matches against Belgium at Easter, England in June and a Home Countries tournament in July.

“There were also quite a number of young players who have two years or more at this level meaning they will still be U-16 when we begin preparations for our European tournament in 2010″.

U16 Irish Trialists
Rachael Barrett (GK) (Holy Faith Clontarf/Clontarf), Juliette King Hall (Newpark/Hermes), Laura Pinder (St Andrews/Hermes), Orla Macken (Rathdown/Railway Union), Lisa McCathy (Mount Anville/Railway Union), Emily Beatty (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Kate Lloyd (Loreto Abbey Dalkey/Railway Union),

South East: Laura Power (GK), Hanna Heffernan (GK), Jean Devloy, Aoife Murphy, Grace Walsh

Connacht: Vicky Hynes (GK), Freddie Timmons, Maeve Russell, Ciara Meagher, Louise Fahy

Ulster: Lauren Johnson (GK), Lucy McKee, Louise Murray, Joanne Orr, Katie Morris, Kerri McDonald, Gemma Frazer, Leah Ewart, Amy Cooke, Chloe Brown

Munster: Gemma Kingston, Amy Kate Trevor, Leanne Mullins, Victoria Burns, Antonia McGrath, Rebecca Barry, Roisin Upton,

Head Coach: Una McCarthy
Manager: Siobhan Smyth
Assistant Coach: Michelle Rainey
Assistant Coach: Jonny McBride
GK Coach: Sammy Downes
Physio: Beibhinn McCann
Video: Denise McCarthy

Partners of The Hook