Revington names first squad

Paul Revington today named his first 26-man Irish panel in the wake of the Scotland series and 20 days before he takes office officially.

He said of his selection: “I am pleased to announce a very well balanced Irish men’s hockey squad moving into 2009. It contains a healthy mix of youth and experience, experienced players in key areas of the field, exciting attacking and goal scoring options and high quality goalkeepers.

“It was selected through careful consultation with previous and current national coaching staff, and was solidified by way of me being fortunate enough to watch over 30 players during the recent series against Scotland .”

The new man also named 16 players to the Ireland ‘A’ side who he hopes will “form an integral part of the senior men’s process. The Ireland ‘A’ squad will be the responsibility of the Irish senior team coaching staff with the aim of ensuring the respective players follow a path that eventually turns them into quality international hockey players.”

Coach Revington, who is looking forward to viewing more players at the Senior Interpros in mid-March, has also announced his training schedule for next year up to the European Nations Trophy in August. His backroom staff (below) was also made known though this group will be subject to a review after his first year in charge.

Senior Squad:
David Harte (GK) (Pembroke Wanderers), Iain Walker (GK) (YMCA), Mark Ruddle (GK) (Cork C of I), Gareth Lennox (GK) (Banbridge), Ronan Gormley (Pembroke Wanderers), Tim Lewis (Pembroke Wanderers), Joe Brennan (Glenanne), John Jackson (Loughborough Students), Keith Black (Cookstown), Conor Harte (Pembroke Wanderers), Karl Burns (Cork C of I), John Jermyn (Cork C of I), Mark Black (Cork Harlequins), David Hobbs (Cork C of I), Graham Shaw (Glenanne), Stephen Butler (Glenanne), Andy McConnell (Three Rock Rovers), David Ames (Cookstown), Geoff McCabe (Banbridge), Phelie Maguire (Three Rock Rovers), Timmy Cockram (Lisnagarvey), Eugene Magee (Banbridge), Mitch Darling (Three Rock Rovers), Michael Watt (Grange, Scotland), Alan Sothern (Pembroke Wanderers), Mark Gleghorne (Instonians)

Management Team:
Head Coach: Paul Revington
Coach: Craig Fulton
Asst Coach: Arul Anthoni
Manager: Peter Jackson
Strategic Manager: Steven Hiles
Physio: Sinead Murphy
Video: Tristan Seaton Stedham
Fitness: Stephen Barry

Ireland A Squad
David Fitzgerald (GK) (Monkstown), Stephen O’Keeffe (GK) (UCD), Adam Pritchard (Cork C of I), Colin Donaldson (Cookstown), Paul Gleghorne (Loughborough Students), Steven Redpath (Annadale), David Robinson (YMCA), Jonny Quigley (Annadale), Simon Todd (Mossley), Stuart Smyth (Cookstown), Diamid Reay (Banbridge), Peter Blakeney (Three Rock Rovers), Peter Caruth (Annadale), Bruce McCandless (Banbridge), Jonny Bruton (Cork C of I), Jason Lynch (Lisnagarvey),

Management Team:
Team Leader: Craig Fulton
Coach: Turloch O Siochain
Manager: TBC
Physio: David Richards

Partners of The Hook