Olympic schedule announced

The Olympic Games Committee and the International Hockey Federation (FIH) released the match schedule for the hockey tournament of the 2008 Olympic Games today.

The first day of competition will be Sunday 10 August 2008 when the 12 women’s participating teams will enter the pitch in Beijing, China. Japan and New Zealand have the honour to open the tournament while the men’s tournament will start on Monday 11 August 2008. The first men’s match will be the encounter between Germany and China .

The pools for the 2008 Olympic Hockey Tournament are as follows:

Men’s Olympic Hockey Tournament:
Pool A: Germany , Spain , Korea , New Zealand , Belgium , China .
Pool B: Australia , Netherlands , Pakistan , Great Britain , South Africa , Canada .

Women’s Olympic Hockey Tournament
Pool A: Netherlands , Australia , China , Spain , Korea , South Africa .
Pool B: Argentina , Germany , Japan , New Zealand , Great Britain , USA .

For the full list of match times, click here

Partners of The Hook